Sepecat Jaguar A

The Jaguar, built by the Anglo-French company SEPECAT « Société Européenne de Production de l’avion-Ecole de Combat d’Appui Tactique », is a combat aircraft used either as a single-seat ground attack aircraft or a two seat trainer. 
It entered service in 1973, and more than 600 units were built.

From a single airframe, four variants of the Jaguar were built and adapted to the needs of the two countries. Production of the aircraft’s subassemblies were shared equally between France and Britain, and each country assembled its own aircraft.

In France, the Jaguars were assembled in Colomiers, in the workshops of Avions Marcel Dassault-Breguet Aviation. The engine was built by a partnership of Turboméca and Rolls Royce. The Jaguar was deployed in a number of conflicts, such as the Gulf War, but also in Mauritania, Chad, Bosnia, Kosovo and in Pakistan. The type was retired from French service in July 2005.

Sepecat Jaguar A

Le Jaguar construit par la société franco-britannique SEPECAT « Société Européenne de Production de l’avion-Ecole de Combat d’Appui Tactique » est un avion de combat destiné à l'attaque au sol dans sa version monoplace et à l'entraînement dans sa version biplace.

Mis en service en 1973, il a été construit à un peu plus de 600 exemplaires.
A partir d’une même cellule, quatre versions du Jaguar sont déclinées et adaptées aux besoins des deux pays. La production des sous-ensembles de ces avions est répartie de façon égale entre la France et la Grande-Bretagne. Et chacune assure l’assemblage final des appareils qui lui sont destinés.

En France, les Jaguar sont produits sur le site de Colomiers, dans les usines Avions Marcel Dassault-Breguet Aviation. Le Jaguar est engagé dans de nombreux conflits comme la guerre du Golfe mais aussi en Mauritanie, au Tchad, en Bosnie, au Kosovo ou encore au Pakistan. En France, c’est en juillet 2005 qu’il est retiré du service.

Collection Ailes Anciennes Toulouse