homeDécouvrir le muséeLa collectionLes aéronefsRepublic F-84G Thunderjet (soon)

Republic F-84G Thunderjet (soon)

The Republic F-84 Thunderjet was an American fighter and ground-attack aircraft, designed at the end of World War II. It flew for the first time in 1946. It was one of the very first operational American jet fighters after the P-80 Shooting Star. Initially known as the P-84 (P for Pursuit), American designations changed in the late forties and she became the F-84 (F for Fighter). Despite a troubled development programme, later variants became a reference for fighter-bombers of the day, most notably through its participation in the Korean War. Exported to many NATO countries in the 1950s, several thousand of these aircraft were produced.

France received 46 F-84E and 270 F-84G. The first fourteen aircraft were delivered to Reims airbase in 1951 by General Eisenhower in person and equipped squadrons « Champagne » and « Navarre » of the 3rd Fighter Wing, replacing the deHavilland Vampire.

The F-84G were delivered from 1952 and equipped fifteen squadrons in total. From 1952 to 1957, these airframes were maintained by SNCASE in the workshops of Saint-Martin-du-Touch in Toulouse.

Four slightly modified F-84G equipped the official presentation flight of the French Air Force in 1953 and 1954. During an air show on the 17th of May 1953 in Algiers, the commentator - also pilot and journalist - Jacques Noetinger, named this flight the « Patrouille de France ». The general staff of the Air Force made this title the official name of the flight on the 14th of September 1953.

Ailes Anciennes Toulouse Collection

Republic F-84G Thunderjet (en cours de restauration)

Le Republic F-84 Thunderjet est un avion de chasse et d’attaque au sol américain, conçu à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il vole pour la première fois en 1946. Il est l’un des premiers avions de combat à réaction américains opérationnels après le P-80 Shooting Star. Dénommé initialement P-84 (P pour Pursuit), son appellation est changée à la fin des années 40 en F-84 (F pour Fighter). Malgré les difficultés de mise au point en début de programme, il devient au fil des versions un chasseur-bombardier de référence, grâce notamment à sa participation à la guerre de Corée. Exporté vers de nombreux pays de l’OTAN dans les années 50, il a été construit à plusieurs milliers d’exemplaires.

La France reçoit quarante-six F-84E et 270 F-84G. Les quatorze premiers appareils sont personnellement livrés par le général Eisenhower sur la base de Reims en 1951 et équipent d’abord les escadrons « Champagne » et « Navarre » de la 3ème escadre de chasse en remplacement du DeHavilland Vampire.

Les F-84G sont livrés à partir de 1952 et équipent au total quinze escadrons. De 1952 à 1957, ces appareils sont révisés par la Sncase dans les usines de Saint-Martin-du-Touch à Toulouse.

Légèrement modifiés, quatre F-84 G ont équipé l’escadrille de présentation officielle de l’armée de l’Air en 1953 et 1954. C’est à l’occasion d’un meeting aérien le 17 mai 1953 à Alger que le commentateur du show, le pilote et journaliste Jacques Nœtinger, baptise cette escadrille « Patrouille de France ». L'état-major de l'armée de l'air entérine cette appellation le 14 septembre 1953.

Collection Ailes Anciennes Toulouse