homeDécouvrir le muséeLa collectionLes aéronefsMikoyan-Gurevich MiG-15 Bis

Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-15 Bis

The MiG-15 is a single seat Soviet fighter, designed after World War II as an interceptor and then adapted for the role of ground attack, reconnaissance or pilot training as a two seat variant.

Entering service with the Soviet Air Force in 1948, this aircraft was a formidable foe for the UN allies during the Korean War. Later, the type was used by the air forces of forty different countries around the world and became one of the most produced jet combat aircraft in history.

Prior to and during World War II, the Soviet Union lacked certain new aviation technologies. Towards the end of the conflict, Soviet forces captured many German designs, including the already operational Me-262 jet fighter, as well as other aircraft in prototype stage such as the Focke-Wulf Ta 183. The Soviet manufacturers were inspired by these aircraft for their new aerodynamic designs, and attempted to perfect the Junkers Jumo 004 and BMW 003 jets. But the first Soviet jet fighters were nevertheless inferior to their Western counterparts.

In April 1947, the Mikoyan-Gurevich design office acquired the new Klimov RD-45 jet engine, which was merely a copy of the Rolls Royce Nene. On the basis of German research that recognized the superiority of a swept wing design at high speeds, and the existing MiG-9, the engineers redesigned the project. Fitted with a wing swept back by 35°, the prototype made her first flight on the 30th of December 1947. In 1950, the MiG-15bis was fitted with an improved engine, the VK1, and certain airframes are adapted for ground attack purposes. The Soviet fighter was ready to face her Western opponents.

Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-15 Bis

Le MiG-15 est un avion de combat monoplace soviétique, conçu après la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour des missions d’interception puis adapté pour l’attaque au sol, la reconnaissance ou l’entraînement des pilotes en version biplace.

Accepté par la Force Aérienne Russe en 1948, l’appareil se montre redoutable lors de la guerre de Corée.
Par la suite, utilisé par les forces aériennes de plus de quarante pays dans le monde, il est l’un des avions de combat à réaction les plus produits de tous les temps.

Avant et pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’Union Soviétique prend du retard en matière de développement de nouvelles technologies aéronautiques. Vers la fin du conflit, les forces soviétiques capturent de nombreux appareils allemands, dont le chasseur à réaction Me-262 qui est déjà opérationnel, ainsi que d’autres qui sont à l’état de prototype comme le Focke-Wulf Ta 183. Les concepteurs soviétiques vont s’en inspirer sur le plan aérodynamique et perfectionner les turbo-réacteurs Junkers Jumo 004 et BMW 003. Mais les premiers chasseurs à réaction soviétiques sont moins performants que leurs équivalents occidentaux.

En avril 1947, le bureau d’études Mikoyan-Gurevich intégre le nouveau moteur Klimov RD-45 qui n’est autre qu’une copie du Moteur Nene de Rolls Royce. Sur la base des recherches allemandes qui reconnaissaient la supériorité de la voilure en flèche à vitesse élevée et du MiG-9 existant, les ingénieurs redessinent le projet. Doté d’une aile en flèche de 35°, le prototype effectue son premier vol le 30 décembre 1947. Dès 1950, le MiG-15 bis intègre un moteur plus puissant encore, le VK1 et certains appareils sont adaptés pour l’attaque au sol. Le chasseur soviétique est prêt à affronter ses adversaires occidentaux…

Collection Ailes Anciennes Toulouse