homeDécouvrir le muséeLa collectionLes aéronefsAerospatiale Westland SA 340 Gazelle

Aerospatiale Westland SA 340 Gazelle

The Gazelle is a light utility helicopter designed in the second half of the 1960s. The work of an Anglo-French partnership, production began early in the 1970s.

Produced as both the SA341 and SA342 variants, most of these aircraft were used by the armed forces of more than twenty-five different countries.

The development of this helicopter, designed to replace the Alouette II, started in the early 1960s. The specifications were soon of interest to the United Kingdom. On the 22nd of February 1967, an Anglo-French agreement was signed, with governmental cooperation. Sud-Aviation, a company responsible for the development of all helicopter programmes, was to entrust part of the production to the British industry.
A slim fuselage combined with a rigid rotor developed in cooperation with Bölkow (Germany), a more powerful engine, the use of composite materials in the airframe structure, the use of a new type of tail rotor called the fenestron: the Gazelle incorporated many innovations. The new concept of the fenestron allows noise and drag to be reduced, and requires less power during cruise flight.

The prototype SA 340 made its maiden flight on the 7th of April 1967 with the engine and rotor of the Alouette II.
All variants included, more than 1,500 Gazelle were produced in France, in Britain but also in Egypt and ex-Yugoslavia under licence.
The airframe on display in the museum is the second Gazelle SA 340 prototype. This helicopter was delivered from the Toulouse Aviation Testing Centre in 1998 where it was used for various ground tests. Unlike later versions, it is equipped with a T-shaped stabilizer, placed above the fenestron.

Aerospatiale Westland SA 340 Gazelle

La Gazelle est un hélicoptère léger utilitaire conçu dans la deuxième moitié des années 60. Fruit de la coopération franco-britannique, sa production en série commence au début des années 70.

Déclinée en plusieurs versions SA341 et SA342, la majeure partie des appareils a fait sa carrière dans les forces armées de plus de vingt-cinq pays.

Les études de cet appareil, conçu pour succéder à l’Alouette II, commencent au début des années 60. La définition d’une nouvelle machine intéresse rapidement le Royaume-Uni. Le 22 février 1967, un protocole d’accord franco-britannique est signé, les deux gouvernements ayant décidé de collaborer. Sud-Aviation, responsable de l’ensemble des programmes de développement des hélicoptères, devait confier certaines tâches à l’industrie britannique.

Un fuselage affiné allié à un rotor rigide développé en coopération avec Bölkow (Allemagne), un moteur plus puissant, l’utilisation de matériaux composites pour la structure, un rotor anti-couple d’un concept nouveau : le fenestron constituent les principales caractéristiques de la Gazelle. Le principe novateur du fenestron induit moins de traînée, est moins bruyant et nécessite moins de puissance en vol de croisière.

Le prototype SA 340 fait son premier vol, le 7 avril 1967 avec un moteur et des rotors d’Alouette II.

Toutes versions confondues, plus de 1500 Gazelle ont été construites en France, en Angleterre mais aussi en Egypte et en Ex-Yougoslavie sous licence.

Le modèle exposé au musée aeroscopia est le second prototype de la Gazelle SA 340. Cet hélicoptère est arrivé du Centre d'Essais Aéronautiques de Toulouse en 1998 où il servait à différents essais au sol. A la différence des versions suivantes, il est doté d’un empennage horizontal en T, placé au-dessus du fenestron.

Collection Ailes Anciennes Toulouse